Question about: VariAudio 3, Chord Pads, Melodyne4

I have watched videos and played with a demo of Melodyne4.
It allows me to alter Vocals, Guitar, Keyboard, Piano, Strings, anything. Also I can alter individual notes within a chord.

Is there anyway to achieve this in Cubase 10 Pro using VariAudio 3 or ChordPads or other ‘free’ plug-ins ?

I don’t want to fork out a tonne of cash for Melodyne if I can do it for free with plug-ins in Pro 10.

I read that Melodyne is Polyphonic, whereas VariAudio3 is Monophonic, (which apparently makes the big difference).

I really would appreciate some help as to what to do.

You said it in the last line! Melodyne can do polyphonic edits. VariAudio can not!
If you need to edit polyphonic audio, go for Melodyne. If not, use VariAudio. Save the cash and spend it on something more useful!

Thanks,
… and because I am a beginner; I wanted to make sure I am understanding it correctly:
is this correct: VariAudio will edit the track pitch as a whole. It is unable to separate the different sounds within a track ?

I downloaded a demo of Melodyne and imported an MP3 song from my mp3 player. Melodyne was able to completely separate the song into about 12 tracks (voice, harmonies, guitar, drums, etc) and then I could edit EACH of these pieces individually. (ie: alter the harmony, but keep the main vocal in-tact).
is this what Polyphonic means ? and VariAudio would be unable to do this as it cant separate the elements of the track.

is my above view correct ? or wrong ?

Thanks again :wink:

Yes, that is correct. And Melodyne are really the only folks doing poly.

One nice thing about Melodyne pricing is that you can buy a more limited version (sorry don’t recall their different names) and then if you later upgrade the total cost is the same as if you’d initially bought the full one. There is no cost penalty for buy the cheapest and upgrading that as needed.