Question from a DAW newbie (drum map)

bonjour!

I was recommended to try Cubase (and now own it) and because I’m a major beat composer I needed a better way than the piano roll Logic offers.

I’m getting used to the drum map but does anyone notice if you select a bunch of notes and then go to a lane those notes are de-selected?

Kind of annoying actually but anyway, going great guns thus far!

Aloha U,

Not sure which version of Cubase you now own but with C6.5 (and maybe before)
there is ‘Beat Designer’.

You might find it helpful.

{‘-’}

Beat Designer was introduced with Cubase 5.

Hullo!

Does the beat designer create MIDI or must it be entered using the mouse?

I want to learn how to make beats without loops or tools.

Kindest regards

Beat Designer is MIDI Insert. You can use presets, or you can insert your own beat by mouse. Than, you can switch among different beats by using MIDI keyboard, or MIDI notes.

Try to wath this.

I think that like many you confuse midii with controlling software with some external device like in your case drumpads.

When Captain Kirk is on some planet and calls and says “Beam me up Scotty” Scotty listens, gets the message and executes the command. That same way you can use midi to send a message from an external source transmitter to an internal receiver-software application and get the command executed.
But Kirk can also give his commands internally, from the bridge. Just like the “piano roll” and the “beat designer” can be used to send command messages internally.

In audio, you’d play a snare-drum and you can manipulate the snare-drum sound but it stays a snare-drum. In midi all you get is a pattern. And you decide which instrument you will link to it, be it a snare, a tom, a daf or even a saxophone or violin.

In short: when you see a wave pattern, it’s audio. When you see either written notes or patterns, it’s midi.

Ha. ha!

I was not from the Star Trek Generation :slight_smile: