Question re fixing drum timing with slices/warps

Hi All:

I have some drum tracks with some timing issues but only in certain sections of the song. Most of it sounds great.

The kit is split across four mono audio files. Two for the overhead (L and R), and two for the rest of the kit (also L and R). So I need to be able to move beats in all 4 tracks at once or end up with timing and phasing issues.

I’m a newbie when it comes to hitpoints/slices/warp tabs. So I’d very much appreciate feedback and suggestions re the following:

• Am I correct that the adjustments I want to make begin by creating hitpoints and slices for each track and then using them to create warp tabs? (Then, I move the warp tabs as needed?)

Can I create slices/tabs only for the beats in the sections I want to edit or must I do it for the whole track?

If I have to go through the process of slicing four times (one for each track) I’m sure to end up with slice (and eventually warp tab) mismatches. Is there any way to avoid this? Is there a way to slice multiple tracks at the same time?

Any other suggestions on the most efficient way to do this? Any “gotchas” to avoid?

I recently had the same problem you are facing with multi track drum editing. For various reasons I never got around to try it, but I found this article:

From what I understand the multi track editing process has been greatly improved in Cubase 6.

Cut, and Slide is the way.