Questions from the Unitiated

Greetings!

I am a composer who recently stumbled upon Dorico, and let me tell you, I am floored with the progress that has been made on the program so far and am extremely interested in its future direction. Conceptually (and apparently in terms of execution, if the reviews I have read are to be believed), this is the product the market has sorely needed for some time now. It’s like the Vivaldi of notation software.

I have a handful of general questions and comments about the project, some of which seem to have sort-of related threads elsewhere - but it makes more sense to dump them all here than resurrect age-old conversations. I have not committed the time to trying the program out yet myself, but am confident I would be able to adjust my workflow to match the unique philosophy of Dorico, and would like to time my use of the trial to when it is a little more feature complete before actually dropping money on it.

Without further adieu:

1. Obviously, I can’t expect any sort of development timeline privy to the team, but how soon can we expect more robust support for third-party VSTs/expression maps/etc.? I suppose the point of Dorico is to get us as musicians back to thinking like musicians rather than technologists or publishers, but building in functionality that matches at least the MIDI-editing capabilities of major DAWs would be a stupendous productivity boon - it effectively negates the need to use a DAW at all for composers interested in producing their meticulously notated works.