random layout changes when adding text/tremolo strokes don't change

Hello there

I’m still quite new to Dorico, but so far I’m having two reocurring issues.

1. in a piece for 6 instruments, I wanted to write ‘senza vibrato’ for the viola, but when I actually try to add that piece of text, all of the staffs in this system (there’s only one system on the page) spread out so much (vertically) that the lowest staff disappears under the end of the page and I can’t reach it. Can anyone make sense of this? Or tell me how I solve it?

2. when I want to change some four-strokes single-note tremolo to three-strokes single note tremolo in a line of tied notes, there are always some notes that refuse to make that change. Then I have to untie them first, in order to make the change separately on that one note and then re-tie them. This seems unnecessary and takes a lot of time. Any leads?

Many thanks in advance!
Best regards
Vigdis

Welcome to the forum, Vigdis. The first problem sounds like a bug to me. Are you able to zip up and attach your project here so we can take a look?

When you create a tremolo on a tied note, Dorico will show an appropriate number of strokes taking into account the note value of the note. You can, however, adjust the number of strokes for each notehead in a tie-chain independently if need be: switch to Engrave mode and you can select each notehead separately, then adjust the number of tremolo strokes via the Properties panel.

Thanks, here it is! I wanted to write the ‘senza vibrato’ in the very beginning of the viola part.

About the tied notes with the tremoloes: I have some tied notes which are all the same value and still some ended up having four strokes instead of three… anyway I already changed each of them manually by untying them first (before I read your reply, that is :slight_smile: ).
what remains unspoken - ensemble.dorico.zip (1.26 MB)