Rant - Cubase handles corrupted plugins really badly

I’m very sorry to do this, but after years of the exact same issue, I’m going to have a rant about the programming. While I’m not a programmer, I can “best guess” what’s going wrong.

My total guess: When a plugin instrument gets corrupted, Cubase holds the corrupted version either in the project file or somewhere else, and it is STILL loaded into RAM, even if you have disabled the plugin and/or removed it from the project previously.

This means that:

1. I open a project with a project with a corrupted plugin in it in SAFE MODE
  2. I completely remove the corrupted instance of the plugin
  3. I save the project as a new version
  4. I cold start my PC
  5. I re-open the project in normal mode
  6. I ‘try’ to open a new, FRESH instance of the plugin in that project.
  7. Cubase crashes without any dump.

The only way to get that plugin open is to either create a new project or open an old version where the plugin wasn’t corrupted, which the latter usually doesn’t work, so I end up having to either re-mix a whole project from scrach for clients or use a different plugin instrument.

Anyway, here’s the tl;dr:

Cubase handles corrupted plugin instances really badly, corrupting the whole project file along with it, disabling any ability to work on that project ever again. The project file also cannot be wiped in safe mode and used as a template. Corruption carries on, even after new saves of the project file with plugins disabled/removed completely.

Sorry for the rant. I’ve just had it with spending countless hours trying to recover corrupted project files, only to have to restart from scratch. Seriously thinking about moving to another DAW due to it. I’ve reinstalled Windows, reinstalled Cubase, reinstalled ALL plugins (took days to re-download huge libraries), and the issue still persists.