Re install or Upgrade?

I am a 64 year old, relatively new to the latest keyboard tech and am having trouble with Cubase Ai v10.5, which seems to be sending spurious Midi triggers out. I have a thread looking into this, but one of the suggestions is either reset Cubase (don’t know how) or re-install it, after deleting everything to do with Steinberg and starting from scratch. I am wondering whether this will also mean re-installing the e-licenser and all the plug-ins I have acquired.

The alternative is to upgrade to Cubase 11. Would this effectively be a new installation of version 11, or does the upgrade simply add to the existing version? IF it simply adds to what I already have, it may well leave the Midi gremlins where they are, and I will be no better off, but as a relative beginner I am wary of doing a complete removal of version 10.5.

Any suggestions?

Hi,

Trash Cubase preferences folder, please. Cubase Preferences folders are:
Mac: ~/Library/Preferences/Cubase X
Win: %appData% Steinberg/Cubase X_64

No, eLicenser remains, same as your license stored on it. All Steinberg built-in plug-ins will be installed with Cubase reinstallation. 3rd party plug-ins remain, so you don’t have to reinstall them.

Would recommend to download Trial of Cubase 11, so you would see, if Cubase 11 solves the issue on your side.

You would have 2 applications: Cubase 10.5 & Cubase 11. But the preferences of Cubase 10.5 would be migrated over to Cubase 11 during the very 1st start. So if the problem is in the preferences, most probably, it will appear in Cubase 11 too.

Thanks, Martin. I will set about trying what you have suggested.