Real Life Mac Pro 2019 Experience

Hi everyone.

A few months ago I was really sure: I was about to switch back to Mac, because of the new Mac Pro.
As always, especially with an expense that big, I like to read and read and read hundreds of topics about it on the web, to be absolutely sure I make the right decision. My motivation, still loving Mac OS, stability and a future proof system (I hope).

But… the amount of information about working with Audio and Virtual Instruments on the Mac Pro 2019 model is a bit scarce. There is some, but not a lot of it is about working with Nuendo.

So I am looking for people who made the switch too, and that can tell me about their experiences with it.

I am mainly doing sound design and mixing for large documentaries, all in 5.1 with loads of plugins, and I am also a composer working with fairly large templates and tons of VI’s. Tracking vocals and solo instruments is also a very important part of my business. Nuendo has been my main DAW for these tasks for 7 years now.

I am looking at this configuration:

Mac Pro 2019
12 core (or 16 core)
32 GB Ram (will expand it with an OWC kit to 128GB)
580x Videocard
1 TB SSD (will expand it with a PCIE card with NVME’s)

My concerns:

• Mac Os Catalina, I hear a lot of worrying stuff about it, people calling it MacVista etc.
  • The T2 Chip, and using my RME Fireface 802 with it. (ticks and pops are reported, but I like to hear that from you)
  • Nuendo and “speed”. I’ve read some issues about MacOS and Nuendo not being really fast, is that true?
  • I have a 7960X i9 at the moment, with 16 cores, and I am thinking about going for the 12 core Mac Pro version, would that be a mistake?
  • At the moment I have 128 Gigs of RAM, which seems enough for my projects. I am thinking about using the same amount on the Mac.
  • Durability, how long will this system last? Do I need to wait for ARM based Mac Pro’s?
  • Stability and resetting SMC, how often does that happen to you?