"Record in Editor" + undo/delete record enables multiple other tracks

Cubase 13 Pro, Windows 10 22H2

When “Record in Editor” is turned on and you undo or delete a recording, several other Intrument Tracks will be record enabled.

precondition:

  • Preferences - Enable Record on Selected MIDI Track = ON (not necessary)
  • “Record in Editor” must be turned on in Key Editor by default

reproduce:

  • create empty project

  • create two Instrument Tracks with any synth

  • select first track (gets record enabled)

  • record something on first track

  • double click/open first recorded event in Key Editor (“Record in Editor” must be turned on)

  • select second track (gets record enabled & first track not anymore)

  • record something on second track

  • double click/open second recorded event in Key Editor (“Record in Editor” still must be turned on)

  • hit undo (Ctrl+Z)

/or

  • click on second recorded event in project window
  • hit delete

Result: Both tracks are now record enabled
Expected: second track is record enabled, first track is still not

Now you have to deselect record enable on first track to rerecord on second track.

It gets more complex the more tracks you have in the project. Sometimes all Instrument Tracks are record enabled after deleting an event and you really have to watch out not to record on multiple MIDI tracks accidentally.

This happens with clean preferences and is 100% reproducable. Also with no attached MIDI devices and virtual keyboard only.

The only solution is not to work with “Record in Editor” at all and I hope this gets fixed in Cubase 13.

Thank you!

Hi and welcome,

Are the tracks in a Folder by any chance? Isn’t Group Editin enabled on the folder by any chance?

Hey Martin,

thanks for the welcome and the quick reply! Unfortunatelly there is no chance at all. No Folder, no Group Editing.

I edited my post and added the first step: create empty project.

The issue occurs on two different machines. Did you try to reproduce it following the steps above?

Hi,

Thank you for the additional information.

One more question, how do you hit Record, please? Do you press the button on the Transport bar (bottom zone) or on the Transport Panel? Or do you hit a Key Command? Or do you use a Remote MIDI Device?

Hey Martin,

I press * on my keyboard but it doesn’t really matter. It happens with Transport Panel too.

Actually, you don’t have to record at all. You can:

  • create empty project
  • create two Instrument Tracks with any synth / or just MIDI tracks
  • set cycle range
  • select first track (gets record enabled)
  • DOUBLE CLICK ON FIRST TRACK INSIDE CYCLE RANGE to create empty MIDI event
  • double click/open created event in Key Editor (“Record in Editor” must be turned on)
  • select second track (gets record enabled & first track not anymore)
  • DOUBLE CLICK ON SECOND TRACK INSIDE CYCLE RANGE to create empty MIDI event
  • double click/open second created MIDI event in Key Editor (“Record in Editor” still must be turned on)
  • hit undo (Ctrl+Z)
    /or
  • click on second created MIDI event in project window
  • hit delete

As soon as you open a MIDI event in Key Editor or Lower Zone with “Record in Editor” enabled, Cubase somehow “stores” active “Record Enabled” status. If you move on working on a different MIDI event on a different track and then delete this event after it was opened in Key Editor with “Record in Editor” enabled, ALL previous tracks you opened in Key Editor become record enabled. It happens every time.

I found out that this issue only occurs when “‘Edit Solo’/’Record in MIDI Editors’ Follow Focus” is turned OFF in preferences - editing
(I wanted to update my 1st post but I can’t)

Sorry for the poor quality but this short video should be enough to demonstrate what I mean:

have this issue too, I even made a macro to disable record on all tracks

Update: but I actually have “Edit Solo’/’Record in MIDI Editors’ Follow Focus” turned on, so maybe this is a different bug

Yeah, definitely a bug.
Doesn’t behave like that here on 10.5 pro with 'Edit Solo’/’Record in MIDI Editors’ enabled.

but does it also happen in 10.5 when 'Edit Solo’/’Record in MIDI Editors’ is disabled?

that’s interesting. Could you rename your preference folder or start in save mode with clean settings to check if it still behaves like that? (don’t forget to backup the folder first just to be save)

That helped me to find the reason. But maybe there are more settings that trigger this behaviour or it’s a combination