Recording and Mixing Guitars & Techniques for Cubase Elements

Hey folks,

I am pretty new to using cubase elements and recording in general. I currently have a gibson es-335 and im playing through a yamaha thr 10 ii. In relation to drums I have superior drummer 3 which is unreal learning alot about that at the moment. I use the steinberyg ur22c recording pack for recording vocals and acoustic guitar through and listening back a pair of cheap sonos 3.5 speakers which are pretty good for value.

I have been recording 2 rythme guitars panning left and right. Next I have created 2 fx tracks to send both guitar tracks and pan opposite to the originally recorded guitar tracks. On the fx tracks is where I have been mixing such as addingg eq, reverb, compression etc. I was looking for some advice as I havent really touched the original recorded guitar tracks, I havent used eq on them etc, does anyone touch these tracks at all in the mix? do you just leave them as you recorded them. If not what are the good folks on here doing to these tracks, compression, eq etc. I feel like leaving these tracks bare so to speak might lower the quality of a finished track, I might be wrong though.

I was wondering if anyone has any tricks for recording guitars any different techniques.

thanks

Brian

there are so many elements to consider before I could answer what you should do.

anything from input levels to style of playing to type of music you are making. what about panning and automation? do you actually think your mix is missing something?

if you think it sounds good go check your mix in your car or other places people listen to music like a mobile phone. IF you are happy with your mix it shouldn’t be necessary to add any more effects should it?

Youtube are flooded with recording and mixing techniques, you just need to find something you can trust that fit what type of music you are doing.