Recording Beginner needs advice

Hi all,I am a complete novice and want to start recording. I have recently purchased a Tascam DR-40 portable digital recorder. This is to record live sessions I perform in and those of my friends. I have been advised to purchase Steinberg’s Cu-base & Wave-lab Element suite to start out. Do you think this appropriate and can I build/add to this suite as I progress. Also, I would like to ask anyone what equipment they would advise I purchase to set up a small personal studio at home. I would need nothing bigger than 16-18 track. Look forward to your advice. Thank you.

Don’t know about Wavelab Elements? It’s a nice accessory but you don’t really need it to start out with because Cubase already has basic wave edit functions that are sufficient for basic users most of the time.
But besides that you really need a decent ASIO Audio interface like the UR22 (2 ch. in/2 ch. out) or unit with more if you have like more mics/guitars/synths you need to connect and record at the same time. It all depends on what you are planning to record and how? And what you’re willing to spend. Interfaces with 8 or more channels have a lot steeper price range.
In your case I would probably start out with Cubase Elements and start finding your way and maybe upgrade along the way if you need/want more functionality.

1. Cubase Elements to start off
  2. Any 2 channel audio interface, UR22 etc. If you plan on recording more than 2 channels at a time youll need an interface with more inputs
  3. You dont really need WaveLab to master stuff but it is cool
  4. You need a good set of monitors, Yamaha HS7/HS8, JBL305/308 depending on room size
  5. Most importantly you need to treat the room with sound absorption