Recording external instrument audio in Cubase ELEMENTS

Greetings fellow musicians!
I have recently purchased a Yamaha CS Reface synthesizer and am trying to record it in cubase elements. However, after four hours of hard work to no avail, I was shocked to learn that external midi instruments is a pro-only feature! Is there any workaround that I could do in elements to record the audio from my synth? If so, I would appreciate if someone could explain it to me simply, as I am new to cubase. Thanks so much!

Hi and welcome to the forum,

Add an Audio Track, set the input and record, please.

1 Like

Thank you for your response. Under audio inputs, I only have my stereo in bus and my microphone. I cannot find the CS. What should I do?

The audio on the Yamaha is coming out of the audio outputs, not over USB.
You need to plug it in to the stereo in of the realtek.

1 Like

How do I do this? I do not have an audio interface. I’m not sure if that means anything.

An interface is certainly the better option but you may get acceptable results plugging into the realtek line/mic input.

The Reface has left and right outs on mono jacks. You need a cable to go from there into your computer…which presumably has a 3.5mm stereo mini jack in?

I have my 3.5mm to 1/4 inch cable plugged in
(l/mono output on the reface —> mic on my pc) but I’m still not getting anything. Is there anything I have to do in audio connections to get it to show up?

What cable?..ideally you would need a 3.5mm stereo to 2 x mono jack…even if you only plug one of the jacks in for mono.

Then you’ll need to select input for the track. Which could be either Audio 1 or Audio 2 because of the stereo 3.5mm and the fact you’re only using one side.

The cable I have is just a 3.5mm to 1/4 inch (just one plug on each side). Can I make it work with this (plugged into L/mono)

I also have a usb cable

It should work but you will end up with only one of the two channels in a stereo signal.