Recording microphone in Audio channel - distortion

Hi everyone,
I am new to recording and experiencing problems when trying to record using a mic. This prevents me from singing and from recording guitar in front of a real cab.
I am using an SM57 into a Focusrite Saffire 6 USB. These are going into Elements 9.5. Focusrite audio USB ASIO Driver is configured in VST Audio system set up.
DI’d guitar and other instruments work correctly when using the ¼” jack inputs, but when I try to use a mic with either XLR or a ¼” jack inputs then the signal going into Cubase when the monitor button is pressed is noisy and extremely distorted. Unusable. It records as this distorted signal too.
I have tried lowering the volume in Cubase, I have tried replacing the mic with another, I have tried swapping the mic cable as well. All give the same result. I tried recording using just a plain audio track without presets and also using several of the audio presets for vocals. All give varying degrees of distortion. I have played around with the INST and PAD buttons on the Saffire as well as the gain control.
Can someone advise please?
Thanks
Pete Salmon

Hi Pete

I use a Focusrite all the time onstage and have never had the problem you describe. Have you adjusted the levels ont the front of the Focusrite properly, ie checked that the gain is set so that it is not overloading. A little info about you full setup is necessary for us to assist further as well.

Best Regards, Dave

As Dave suggests, it is almost certainly the levels on the interface that you need to adjust (downwards).

Thanks Dave, Nic,