Recording problems with Cubase Essential 5

Pardon me if I have posted this in the wrong section but I need some help with recording and playback.

I have a brand new Alesis DM10 studio drum kit that came with the DM10 module. On my pc, that is running Windows 7, I have Cubase Essential 5 installed.

Is there someone who could help me get the Cubase to record my Alesis DM10 drums? last night I thought I had it recording but when I go to play it back, no sound. i turned my pc speakers on, plugged my headphones into my pc, but nothing. I even unplugged my headphones from the pc, still nothing. Checked the speaker icon on my desktop and volume was fine and was even turned up.

I am really new to using this software and have searched youtube but nothing related to Alesis DM10. Thank you

Did you dis-able the monitor button in Cubase for playback? I take it you’re using your on board soundcard? That would be less than desirable. An ASIO compliant interface is best. There’s a Sticky at the top of the LE forum that gives a step by step re:setting up Cubase. Go through it and tell us where it goes pear-shaped.

Thank you for the reply, I did disable the monitor button.

I am just wanting to use the sounds that came with the Alesis DM10. I do have EZDrummer but syncing the software to my Alesis is another step that I have not been able to do. I was able to record the Alesis as a Midi but I could barely hear what sounded like ping sound faintly in the background.

What kind of track should I be recording it on, ie. Create Audio track, Midid track or as an instrument track?

If you want the audio from the module, you need audio cables from it to an input of your soundcard, it’s ASIO driver selected in Cubase, the correct input bus set up in VST Connections, and an audio track set up to monitor/ record.

Hey, I have a DM5 with Cubase essential 5 so that looks familiar :slight_smile:

There’s 2 sides to recording electronic drumkits.

1. audio