Recording signal from all tracks on new track

Ladies and Gentlemen of Steinberg forum! Please help. I am brand new to this digital audio workstation world. I’ve played piano for ever but am trying to diversify and be able to record piano parts from home to be a guest on other peoples albums. I purchased a Steinberg UR22mkII and got Cubase LE AI included. I have screen shots I will attach if I can figure out how to show that I believe I’ve set up the input/output properly. My problem is this. . .

I can record audio to track 1. When trying to add audio to track 2, the audio from track 1 gets recorded on track 2 as well. I can’t seem to figure out how to stop this. It even does it if I play a song from iTunes and record. The song playing will be on the track as well as whatever I say in the mic. I don’t know a lot of the technical terms or much really in this realm but any help would be greatly appreciated.

As with all the many posts on the forum that ask the same question, and that you might have been able to find if you had used the search function: You have to disable “loopback” in the UR 22mkII.

svennilenni ~ Thank you for your time and your answer. I will search for loopback in the program.

svennilenni ~ That did not correct the problem. . .

Additional screen shots

Your pics do show that the loopback function is disabled. Now I wonder what you have set as the audio track inputs and outputs. You might somehow have your 2nd… 3rd… etc audio tracks set to input audio from the 1st audio track. So check that out in the track inspector. If you can’t figure it out then a few pics showing the project page and a few of the audio track I/O settings would be helpful.

Regards :sunglasses:

Thank you Prock. I will be able to try what you are talking about on Sunday. Today and tomorrow are busy. I appreciate your time and advice.