Recording the settings on the mixer into Cubase

Hi,

I have searched and searched for answers to my query… and have not been able to find an answer. I would appreciate any help… please note, I am brand new to recording and mixers.

I needed a mixer and did some research and purchased the Allen & Heath Zedi 10FX mixer. Thinking I would be slimming down my equipment needs having a built in interface.

I am running Cubase 9 on Windows 10. I have all latest drivers installed. I have setup the VST connection in the following manner. In the VST connection input tab I create a bus, usually ‘mono’ (although I have tried ‘stereo’ to see if it works to solve my problem, it doesn’t). I create a track and select the bus I created in the F4 menu. I am able to record and play back the recording.

My problem, or expectation was that whatever settings I would have on the mixer would be recorded into Cubase. I understand that recording engineers would prefer a “dry” signal with the ability to change it in the software. I know the value of that, but I want to be able to record what I hear coming from the mixer, to record a ‘wet’ signal. Is there a way to set it up in the device set-up or on the actual mixer itself that I have missed? Allen & Heath’s manual and online articles have not helped in how to setup the mixer for recording the FX. All I have been able to find is this

http://support.allen-heath.com/Knowledgebase/Article/View/366/67/zed-1010fx--setting-gain-structure-for-recording-with-usb-soundcard

Stating that if recording from the FX bus it goes into the Right channel. I’m confused, the FX bus is on all the channels, if I apply it to the channel I’m plugged into, it is mixed into my signal, I hear it through the headphones, but the full signal (wet) is not recorded. And I have tried recording from the right channel on my track, and it still doesn’t record the FX settings, or the tone controls.