Repeat Bars not Working as Expected - Newbie Needs Help

Hello! First post here. I’m trying out the Dorico SE 4 (the free version). I’ve been using Musescore for a few years as a music hobbyist and I’ve been wanting to up my composition game with a more professional notation program.

As my process for getting familiar with Dorico, I’ve copied an old waltz from sheet music into the program. Unfortunately, the repeat bars seem to be broken - nothing repeats - or Dorico needs some handholding in order to recognize what it’s supposed to do? I don’t know.

Mission Dolores.dorico (768.1 KB)

The waltz is in public domain, and its not my original composition. I’ve just copied it from sheet music.

you need to change this:

Bildschirmfoto 2023-05-19 um 19.29.20

Otherwise Dorico is confused. You can see it in Playback-Options Shift + Command/Ctrl P → Repeats.

So, the waltz should play to the first repeat, go back to the beginning, play to the end, and repeat from the beginning to the end ignoring the repeat in the middle. What you’re suggesting would leave out part of the waltz.

If I understand correctly you want a AABAB-form?

You need to work with a D.C. al fine. To set repeats in your way, is a wrong notation.

Welcome to the forum @Abed !

Dorico automatically disables repeats in playback when they are unbalanced, and would result in an infinite playback loop. If you go through and make sure all the start/end repeats match up (i.e. have a corresponding pair), repeats will be re-enabled in playback.

(The Playback Options dialog referred to above is not available in Dorico SE.)

I’m not sure what you mean by “unbalanced” when the score follows typical conventions. @Nukkul 's solution almost works - but really it just needed a DC at the end to fix the problem.

To check my sanity, I tried this score on Sibelius and Musescore, and neither program had problems repeating as expected…