Req Help: Polymeter dispair

Hi all,

I’m a hobbyist who enjoys inputting scores.

My latest interest is that of Rachmaninoff’s 3rd Piano Concerto.

I’ve input the vast majority of the 2nd mov. Intermezzo: Adagio (yes, I’m avoiding the 1st mov. and it’s cadenza for the meantime) and I’m working on the 3rd mov. Finale: Alla breve.

The issue I’m having (and I have searched the forums and read many posts and the help provided by PianoLeo and links to the scoringnotes page).

At this point, I think I need to be certified stupid as I can’t seem to translate what I’m reading to the score I’m working on.

Approaching the end the violins go into 6/4, then the piano a few bars later, then…

further instruments go into 6/4.

I’ve managed once to get a single instrument to go into 6/4 and keep the barlines aligned with the 4/4 bars, however, to fit the 6/4 quavers (eighth note) I’d need to make them triplets. Ignoring hiding anything at this moment, I can merge the 1st 2 eighth note rests into a quaver/quarter note rest (looks good so far).

The issue is, I can’t merge the last of the (1st group) triplet eighth note rest to the to the first eighth note rest in the (2nd group) triplets to form a crotchet/quarter note rest.

The issue other than the above is, I still have no idea what steps I need to use polymetered sections.

If anyone could help explain in the absolute simplest of ways how this all works I’d be very grateful.

@dspreadbury I love Dorico, I bought it on day one and it’s given me countless hours of pleasure, I value everything you and the team have achieved and I’m sure there is a workaround and I’m no developer to question it’s complexity to implement but why some 7 years (and the couple of years in development prior) after release is this process so complex, requiring trickery of doing this and that and hiding things.