request for 7.02

I think it came up a couple of times already but couldn’t find it.

I’d REALLY like to have the option of hearing sound when rendering.
So basically my question is that when rendering an audiofile with pluginns and external gear in the mastersection you don’t hear what is going on. It would be nice to have a checkbox with ‘playback mastersection’ in the render screen.
Should not be to hard to implement i think.

But before rendering, you can monitor (playback), so why do you want to also monitor during rendering? Additional checking?

Indeed, additional checking and having something to listen to while rendering. Specially handy when i have an attended masteringsession since people expect something to hear something during the process.
So in fact it would be really nice to hear the REAL rendered file back, so a bit afte the process. A pretty big Latency really doesn’t matter in this case.

You can do as you requested by simply recording in Wavelab the material you are mastering with outside effects. We do this all the time.

Playback a file, take the output and route it to your external boxes, bring the output of those boxes back into WL and record a new file as you are playing back the non mastered file. Monitor the result.

We are using an RME digi96 Card and a Z-Systems router. It works great!

On my ULN8 I can do something similar - I can route the outboard loop to an active monitor path. So if my “external gear” rack is pointed at DAW 3/4 and returns on FW 3/4 on my interface (this is MIO terminology, not WL), I can monitor either end of that loop in MIO Console.