Request for improvement to MIDI step input

I’ve been using Cubase Artist 9.5 for a very short time and I must say I quite love it, but there is one thing, just one thing, that litterally kills me.

Please add a feature to Cubase in Step MIDI input.
While you hold a key, and press right cursor multiple times, when you release the key, the note is written to the length of how much you advanced the midi input cursor.

It doesn’t sound like much, but you have no idea how this would change writing music for me… You could basically write partitions on the fly with your MIDI keyboard with this…

Without, you have to edit each note that you want to be superior to the quantize value you set, which is extremely tiresome.

I would love that you add this to Step MIDI input’s behaviour.

If you really don’t want to, I could release a plugin for Cubase, I’m a software programmer, is there an SDK for plugins ?

1 Like

What about changing the quantize value before entering the note?

Thats not really it, i already do this, but it is very tiresome compared to the potential of setting the quantize to a low value, and do some “input advance” (if I can say so) to set the note lentgh, what I also do is exactly this, but entering just the notes where they are supposed to start, and then make them larger, but again, it is not very intuitive.

Being able to set note length dynamically with midi cursor input advance have the potential to be so much more… Again, I can actually create a plugin or something if it is possible, I’ve already thought of a C++ algorythm to do that, If I can access note parameters, and get the event “note pressed” during midi input, pressing the right key will increase a counter, then when the event “note released” is triggered, the note is quantize x the value of the counter.