Request: Range Tool as Tool Modifier for Selection Tool

Hello,

The idea of the combined selection tool is good, but in practice it’s not very practical. Everything that relies on precision of the mouse pointer is a workflow slowdown, so it should be minimized. Also, it requires the track to be large enough, so if you have a big project, and want to i.e. select multiple tracks with the range tool, you can’t without switching tool.

On the other hand, the precise mouse positioning is causing me to constantly do the wrong operation just being a pixel off, when working fast.

Instead of switching between Selection/Range based on mouse position, the natural way of working would be a tool modifier key, like holding Alt to get Range tool. Adding Range tool as a tool modifier for Selection Tool would be perfect, and it would still keep the Combined tool for those eho wish to work that way.

1 Like

I have been working with this combined selection tool for 15 years. Before it was introduced in Nuendo, it was exactly the same in Cakewalk Sonar back then. I immediately missed it when I switched to Nuendo.
You can break the combination at any time and switch between the functions with a hotkey. In the 2 years when I missed the combined selection tool, I switched between the Range Tool and the Selection Tool with the hotkey “T”. “Alt” does not work because this is the split tool.
But I’m so used to the combined selection tool that I don’t want to be without it.

I’ve tried finding a single toggle key between Selection and Range, but haven’t been able to. What is that shortcut called in the list of key commands @THambrecht ?

I have the German version here. And translated into English this is under “Tool”:

• Object selection tool
  • Tool selection area on/off
    This allows you to switch between the two modes with T and B.
    Haven’t used that in years though since this is combined. Hope it still works.