Resampling Issue

Here’s one I haven’t seen before:

I have a track mastered at 48kHz with an output ceiling of -.30 dB on the WL Master Level as per the AOM Invisible G2 Limiter.

As I was about to bounce the final mix of the track, I engaged the built in Wavelab ReSampler at 44.1 kHz and my Master Level meters shot clear into the red! Not all the time, but enough that the track’s previous output ceiling of -.30 dB is comprimised and I cannot use the resampled (and now distorted) track.

What’s even more baffling, is that when I limit with the FabFIlter Pro L in the exact same way, the Resampling issue is totally non existent and the WL Master Level meters remain at -.30 dB. So what is happening between these two plugins that is causing WL 9.5 to smoothly process one but add gain to the other?

Any advice? I would hate to have to give up the AOM Limiter because WL is choking on it!

Thanks - DL

The resampler is going to create higher peaks, but you might find the difference between the 2 limiters output if you remove the resampler and render each to a temporary file (unnamed file), then run global analysis on the renders to see the true peaks and digital peaks in the 48k temporary renders.

Thanks Bob, but what’s so baffling is that the FabFilter Pro L produces files which keeps the level EXACTLY the same when resampling…always has… but the AOM Invisible G2 produces files which don’t respond well at all to being resampled. That’s the mystery to me. They “do” the same thing, but something is getting baked into the AOM’s file which causes major issues with Resampling

Why?

That might be evident in the Analysis. The FabFilter 48k temp render might analyze a bit lower than -0.3 before resample. The Invisible Limiter render might analyze at -0.3. (If you get what I get, doing a quick defaults kind of test with -0.3 ceiling on both here). Try it and look at the 48k temp render digital and true peaks before resample.