ReWire timing fixed?

I am irritated that, since Cubase 6 is now available, Cubase 5 is most likely never going to receive updates. This means that the problem with bad ReWire timing that is present in 5.5.2 will be there forever unless I pay to update.

Is the bug fixed in Cubase 6? If not, then I think I’m going to stop buying steinberg products. I dislike that Cubase 5, a program I paid more than $500 for, has a bug that will never be fixed, and that is ONLY present in 5.5.2.

I’m a starving student, going to a music school. Cubase is my DAW of choice. I’m regretting that now, since Steinberg has seen fit to deny me an upgrade unless I shell out an additional $150.

Did you apply for edu discount?

I did not. I paid full price for Cubase 5 so that I would not have to pay full price for future releases (there are no EDU upgrade options, you have to buy full versions every time). But I did not anticipate that there would be a huge unaddressed problem in my current version, and refuse to pay for a major upgrade to “fix” an issue that should have been dealt with when Cubase 5 was in beta testing.

EDU is the same as any other version except it is half-price, good for :nerd: 's like me :sunglasses:

When upgrades come out they apply to both edu and regular versions except the price is the same in the second instance.

Good deal I say particularly for “productivity upgrades” like Halion Sonic and Wavelab Elements.

Hi,

here (i7-950, asus p6t deluxe v2, cubase 6, reason 5.0.1) the timing problem with
rewire is not fixed. Timing is ok in 44KHz projects, but not in 48KHz.

Last week I reported the problem to steinberg support.

Hello,

we will have a look to this (27954)

cheers,

Chris

I have reported this problem almost half a year ago and was in contact with Steinberg support directly. Anyhow, they were not able to reproduce the problem :frowning: Hopefully, this new attempt will result in a fix because the problem definetely affects several systems here.

Regards,