Rooting VST-Outputs to different audio tracks

Hey Guys

I’m new to the Pro version of Cubase 8 and like to root the outputs of VST instruments (for example different slots in HSSE or different parts of a drum [snare, tom etc] in Groove Agent SE 4) to different audio tracks.
I’d like to have one audio track for each element of a drumset and not just one for the entire Groove Agent drumset.

The stuff I already know:
It’s not possible to root a VST rack instrument directly to an audio track, the VST output has to be set to a group channel. Then the audio input of the audio track has to be set to that group channel.
When I do this I obviously only get the entire drumset recorded into one audio track.

How can I record a single track for each drum, snare etc. of Groove Agent?
Because I’m new to the software a clear step by step instruction would be great :slight_smile:

Thank you very much for your help!

I think you need to examine the multi output options for VSTi’s. When loading a VSTi you’ll have the option (triangle in the upper most right corner of the vsti),
then configure how much outputs are needed (16 is the maximum I think), see the attached picture!

BTW: Root must be Route :wink:

Hello,
Thanks for your help. :smiley: I now managed to route the outputs to different groups and it works! But do I really need to make as many groups as outputs (picture in attachement)? Isn’t there another way? :open_mouth:

No need to make any groups…not sure why you have??

VST Instruments

Record VST instrument tracks without using groups or bounce or export - by JMCecil

F4 → Output tab → hit + sign and create a Stereo Output called whatever “VSTi Out”. Do not assign this output to any of your audio card outputs.
On your Instrument track, set the output to the “VSTi Output” from the previous step.
Create a Stereo Audio Track in the project, set the INPUT to “VSTi Output”
Enable monitor and/or Record enable.