Routing in Cubase 7.5

Hi.

I’m running Cubase 7.5 with UA Apollo interface.

I have an outboard compressor and eq wich I’m trying to route my masterbus (stereo out) to. Though this obviously does’nt work. Any way around this?

Btw, I don’t want to use the insert/send fx bus, just want to route all my channels out and back in again, if that makes sence.

Bare with me :blush: I’m new at this :wink: Coming from OTB-world

Thanks

F4 (VST Connections Panel) → External FX tab. here’s where you set up your external gears’ IOs. then what you set up here shows up among your VST plugins under ‘External plugins’.

edit: oh you don’t actually want to use inserts… there is a way but don’t have time to explain atm i’m sure somewill will chime in.

Did u try putting a group channel just before your master out, routing it to your hardware, and in turn routing all your tracks to that group instead of your master out? The return can be assigned to an audio track, which you can set up to be the only thing that feeds your master out.

It’s been a while since I worked w/ external hardware, but iirc that (or something very close :slight_smile:) worked well.

This doesn’t make sense, since this is exactly what the external FX function is for. It allows you to send out and return at any point in the chain. Why wouldn’t you want to use the thing that is made to do exactly what you want?

Other than that, you just use VST Connections as already suggested (F4).

Btw, I don’t want to use the insert/send fx bus

This doesn’t make sense, since this is exactly what the external FX function is for

Exactly…setup your stuff as external FX and insert them as inserts the stereo bus.

unfortunately you can’t save the external fx presets. :smiley:

Why do you need a preset? It’s just channels

Thanks alot guys! :slight_smile:

Coming from outboard-world, so I’m a n00b here :wink:
Appreciate your help.

I will try the group channel though.