running 2 computers

Hey everyone?

Soon i will have available a second computer that i would like to run in tendem for more processing power.
How do i go about doing this??

thanks

Billow

is it possible? or does anyone do it?

I have no experience with this. You can use VST System Link, which is part of Cubase. I think that requires both computers to have an audio interface.
The other solution is Vienna Ensemble Pro, which does a similar thing but over the network so you don’t need multiple audio interfaces.

ahh, ok.
So my main computer, is Windows 8 with Cubase Elements 8 and second computer is windows 7 with cubase 5 would the VST system link still work?

Yes, different OS’s shouldn’t make a difference for VST system link.

Read up on how to set it up though, as I’m sure there are some catches I don’t know about. VSL is quite old already, it’s been part of Cubase for longer than I can remember. AFAIK it’s not had any updates in recent years either, which I assume means it works fine, but the documentation on it online might be quite old too.!

There are several ways to do this.

1. with VST system link you can indeed run two separate instances of cubase together. You will need two licences and you will need a digital output/input on both soundcards/machines for syncing. The computers link together through the digital interface of both soundcards.

2. You can use a VST hosting program and run it together with a single cubase and and the host will act as a “slave” on the other computer. Example = Vienna Ensemble Pro. As extra: You can use a program like SYNERGY to control both computers with a single monitor and a single mouse. You will need a fast ethernet connection on both computers, since the syncing is being done over the LAN network. In this configuration you only need one soundcard, since the slave is sending everything through the LAN to the "masteré, which is solely responsible for the conversion proces.