Sad piano music

Okay, so I go on youtube and hear all these wonderful songs with just piano and maybe another instrument or so. This was my attempt to make something similar :confused:

Don’t shoot me if it sounds unnatural in anyway. I don’t play any instrument but drums in real life…

it is called “If only you knew”

The piece itself does the job nicely. Well done!

Don’t shoot me if it sounds unnatural in anyway. I don’t play any instrument but drums in real life…

I won’t shoot you!! But it’s not the best sounding piano and the performance is not convincing for me either I’m afraid. I think for solo acoustic piano work you really need to have a much better sounding piano. Apart from using a REAL one of course there are some very good VSTi’s around these days.

:sunglasses:

Care to explain why it sounds non convincing? I don’t play piano so I don’t really understand I guess.

I’m just a newb who likes to make things so I appreciate that help… :confused:

No advertisement on this clip, so I listened. :wink:

Ian is right, and it’s the main sonic issue with this piece, the piano.
Trying to explain why it sounds unconvincing is like trying to explain
why a wax dummy doesn’t look like a real human—there are just too many
elements that are not “natural”. The piano in this piece sounds like a
synth trying to sound like a piano. Too many synth elements remain
that let the listener know it’s not a real piano, from actual tone to
lack of real-time characteristics (density, sustain, fundamental quality
of the note, etc).

I think if you are keen to explore instrumental stuff, I would at least
recommend getting a decent piano VSTi/sample library. Especially if
the piano is going to be the feature instrument, as it is here. :wink:

I appreciate the challenge you face!