Safe, easy upgrade to 12?

I’m on Cubase 11. I’m a very busy music producer/composer with a backlog so I can’t afford significant downtime chasing problems or fixing bugs. But I want to lose the dongle. 13 is too new and will likely have teething pains, so 12 it is. But both here and other forums on the web Cubase 12 has a terrible reputation regarding stability and reliability.

As I’ve said before, I also use Premiere Pro, Photoshop, FL Studio and Visual Studio. These are all huge, complex programs with zillions of lines of code, decades of legacy code, and which accept lots of third-party plugins/add-ons. But I never bother to schedule time for upgrades with them because upgrades usually go smoothly so I don’t lose time or work.

My PC is a Windows 10 Pro, Xeon W-2255 CPU (10 physical cores) , 64G RAM, 1TB SSD, NVidia RTX 4000. It runs Cubase 11 and either Premiere Pro or Adobe Audition simultaneously, if needed, with adequate performance. What should I do before upgrading to Cubase 12 to have the same level of confidence?

Hi,

Cubase 13 is out from today.

You should download the Trial Cubase version and test it on your unique system.

I think I made it very clear in my OP that it makes no sense to get the initial release of 13 - there will certainly many initial problems to iron out. Why would I want to try the initial release of any software when there’s already a mature version that’s been out for over a year? Or are you suggesting that the early release of 13 is more stable than the mature release of 12?

The other thing that bothers me is your suggestion that I should "test"version 13. When I install a new version of Premiere Pro or Visual Studio I don’t do so to “test” it. I do so to get work done. It is not the customer’s job to test software; the customer buys software with the expectation that is has already been tested. Testing is the company’s job. The only software I test is what I write.