SATB Template, Tenor Playback

This is my first attempt to enter Choral music. I selected the SATB with Piano template. Soprano, Alto, Bass all work fine, but the Tenor part by default shows with a Treble clef. Since I am transcribing a hymn, I want the Tenor part to show the Bass Clef. In an attempt to fix things I select the Bass Clef and make the change. The trouble is, playback of each note sounds an octave lower than notated. I tried changing the Player to Choir. That fixed the playback but made the Tenor part display on a Grand Staff.

So is my only solution to abandon my preferred format of separate SATB staves and use a single Choir staff with voices for each part?

Does this thread help? old topic: tenor g-clef to alto c-clef - Dorico - Steinberg Forums

Thanks, pianoloe.

I saw that and one other thread before I posted, but after reading them I found myself more confused than when I started. I’m hoping to gain some clarity as well as to understand my options. And hopefully there are other people who could benefit from that as well.

No. Your first idea was good. You need to change the instrument instead of the clef. Rather than changing it to choir, change it to bass or bariton and rename it to get a bass clef staff named tenor.

To check I understand:

• You would like four staves, one for each part: Soprano, Alto, Tenor, Bass
  • But you would like the clefs to be (respectively) treble, treble, bass, bass?

If so, this is a rather unorthodox requirement. I won’t say I’ve never seen it, but it’s not standard. Normally, tenors read treble clef transposed an octave down in ‘open score’ (that is, when all four parts are written out on their own staves). This is what Dorico offers by default, and how the Tenor instrument is defined. Only when the music is written in ‘short score’ (with SA sharing one staff and TB sharing the other) would the tenors read bass clef, because they share a staff with the basses.