Saving time stretch edits?

Hey all. I’m brand new to Cubase. Been digging for an hour on this one. Hoping for some detailed help.

I’m importing audio tracks that were recorded at slightly varying tempo. I’m opening them in the sample editor, adjusting the event start and stop times around certain spots (basically 4 bar measures). I then go back to the project window. The new clip is slightly over or under the 4 bar length now as expected.

I select the 3rd item down from the arrow tool “Sizing applies time stretch”. I re-size and it now snaps the clip nicely to the 4th bar mark. When I set the loop points on these 4 bars, the clip loops seamlessly. I’m happy.

I now want to export/mixdown/bounce/whatever the clip into a stand alone file (we’ll say it’s a WAV for now). This seems to work, but here’s the problem…

… when I re-open the file I just exported, and drop it onto a new track, it comes back up with the original time length - it is still over or under the 4 bar mark a bit and plays out of sync with the time stretched version of the same clip in the track above.

I’ve tried to “Flatten” the clip in the sample editor. Once I go back to the project, the time stretch marks are no longer visible in the upper right corners of the clip. I thought I’d nailed it at that point, but no good - I export the same way, re-open, and it’s again the original length.

I’ve tried this with the time base in both musical and linear (the mode where the orange-yellow note is in the time base box, and the mode where the grey clock is in the time base box). I think I understand the difference between the two but maybe not.

In the end, I’m trying to take longer takes that were slightly above or below 130 bpm, chop them into shorter pieces of several bars, then to permanently apply this slight timing /tempo change in the output file, so once they are brought back into Cubase (or another DAW) with the tempo set to 130 bpm, all the clips should match beat to beat.