Score Editor Step Record Cursor Behavior

I’m new to Cubase and just installed 10 Pro on Windows 7 64-bit. When I use step record in the score editor with a midi keyboard, the input cursor advances in an erratic way. Can someone who uses step record in the score editor help me understand what I need to change to correct this issue?

I have display quantize set small, and normally have quantize length set to link but have tried changing it to match my note selection. The issue occurs in multiple time signatures.

The issue is dependent on where I enter the note. Regardless of the note duration, if I enter the note at the beginning of a measure the cursor advances that same duration. If the note is not the first in the measure and the preceding note is a larger duration, the cursor advances the correct duration. But if the preceding note is a smaller duration, the cursor advances the duration of the preceding note. For example, if I follow a quarter note with a half note the cursor advances only a quarter note even though the actual note duration is a correct half note. This means that the cursor is in the wrong position for the notes that follow.

Thanks!

• Walt

Hi,

Could you please make some screenshots or a video? I’m not sure if I understand your description correct, or it behaves different to me.

• I have 4/4 Bar.
  • I enter 1/4 note at the beginning.
  • Next I want to add 1/2 note immediately behind.
  • So I switch to the 1/2 quantise.
    => Cubase creates 1/4 break, and jumps to the 2nd 1/2 position. If I enter the note, the result is:
    1/4 note | 1/4 break | 1/2 note.

But my request was
1/4 note | 1/2 note.

Is it the same by you or do you have different issue?

Hi Martin

That’s not the behavior I see with midi keyboard input. Let me describe using the “Mouse Time Position”:

New measure: 1.1.1.0
Select quantize quarter note and enter, position moves to 1.2.1.0
Select quantize half note and enter, position moves to 1.3.1.0