Score to DAW (vice versa)

Hello!

I’ve been using Cubase and Sibelius for the better part of 6-7 years. I studied arrangement for orchestra for a couple of years and most of my work is in Sibelius because I find it very intuitive for me writing scores and always beign aware of the notes in front of me . I’m lately making music for media (video games, films etc.) And also writing my own compositions.
I find myself asking people I know, what is ideal way to compose with a DAW/Score. - which is most of the time big orchestra scores.

It might been asked a lot before but I was wondering how others prefer working? Sibelius (or any notation software) to Cubase or the opposite? Or Both?

Thank you! :slight_smile:

Well, with Dorico having the piano roll, you may at least be able to do a lot of the production in Dorico itself.

Welcome to the forum! Since this is not a Dorico specific question, I think you would have better luck asking it in a forum related to scoring/sequencing. Or maybe ask this question instead: is Dorico well suited for making orchestral mockups, and if so, would you like to share your workflow?

Thank you for the reply!
Yes so, I’m working with Sibelius for a long time but lately iv been hearing more and more about Dorico. Wondering how is it going to make a difference. My work flow for now is pretty simple- almost all my compositions are written in Sibelius and when Im done with arrangement I print the whole score so Ill have a physical copy to look at and then I go to Cubase and open my Template which contains many high-end vsts such as Spitfire Audios , Orchestral Tools, Cine samples to name a few…