Seeking Advice for Large Orchestral Composition Workflow

Hello,

I’m new to Dorico and currently working on orchestrating a piece for woodwinds and strings. The music follows an ABABA form, where instrumentation and harmonic segments alternate and change section by section, with the climax occurring in the final A section. I’ve completed orchestrating the first two sections, AB, and now I’m considering how to utilize Dorico’s features to expedite and enhance my composition process for the remaining three sections, ABA. While I understand I can take a linear approach to write it up to the end, I’m curious about other ways Dorico can support my Large Orchestral Composition Workflow beyond typesetting notes and copy-pasting, say by utilizing different views, cues, Lua scripting, etc.

Inspired by Steinberg’s motto “Creativity First — Our Passion for Music Inspires,” I’m eager to learn how Dorico can further aid my compositional process.

I would greatly appreciate insights from fellow Steinbrg’s Dorico team and fellow composers.

My System:

• Windows 11 Pro,
  • Processor: AMD Ryzen 7 4800H with Radeon Graphics, 2900 Mhz, 8 Core(s), 16 Logical Processor(s)
  • Two curved 34" wide screen monitors
  • Dorico 3.5 pro. Downloaded D5 and trial expired.
  • Yamaha KX8
  • A high-precision mouse with 18 Programmable buttons
    Wacom Pro Pen Tablet

PS. would upgrade to Dorico 5 if I am convinced that the upgrade will make my workflow more effective

What version do you have now? SE? Elements? Pro?
Have you downloaded the Dorico Pro 5 trial?

Dorico 3.5 pro. Downloaded D5 and trial expired.