SEND volume affects track volume. WHY?

I haven’t used Cubase for a while because of other things and now I bought Cubase 8 and I just cannot figure out/remember if this strange thing has been a “feature” for Cubase earlier also:::

I have a Mastering project and I have this ONE audio track with SEND ENABLED for an added FX Channel (delay). OK, but when I change the SEND AMOUNT it affects the Volume of the channel that it is sent from. In other words, if I put the SEND AMOUNT to 0 (zero) then nothing is heard or played back.

What a hell? What am I missing?

Isn’t send amount supposed to be the amount of the initial track data that is SENT to this FX track - and not affecting the Gain /Volume of the initial track?

Please tell me like I were a six-year old.

//Tommi

That’s weird. When you disable the send, you still have sound?

Does the actual fader for the track go down when you decrease send volume from it?

How are the outputs routed?

YES; when I disable the SEND channel from the multi-track then the track volume mutes also.

The ´track volume is NOT changed when changing the SEND volume/amount.

Sorry for sounding like a dummy but where can the output routing be adjusted? I haven’t been using Cubase for 7 months now and I have forgotten things.

So when you enable the send and turn it down does the track volume decrease below that of what it was when disabled?

Don’t worry about it! DAWs are crazy and it’s easy to get tied up.

Ok, all I can think of is that, somehow, your track is NOT going to your main out, but the send is. The Send seems to be in full control of monitoring that track… So it’s what’s being routed to your main out… Probably through a Group or FX track that IS routed properly.

Check the output routing at the top of MixConsole for every Channel and also check the “Direct Routing” in MixConsole. This is a new feature, and you might have setup a strange output routing without realizing it.

Yes, that’s how it goes.