Serious microphone drop-outs in Cubase

I am completely new to recording music, having been a DJ for many years (almost a natural progression I guess).

I am setting up my home studio and am having some problems. I purchased a firewire interface (the Edirol FA-101) and when I try to record into Cubase 5, I get serious drop-outs like every 3 seconds. At first I was getting crackles and pops along with the drop-outs, but by adjusting the buffer/latency, I was able to minimize it, but I still get the drop-outs.

So after doing some research online, everyone suggested that you should have a firewire card with a TI chipset, so I purchased a SIIG Firewire 800 card with a TI chipset, and I am STILL having the drop-outs!! I have tried replacing the drivers to unibrain, TI, everything!!!

I just did a test in Adobe Audition, and the mic records flawlessly, recording through the same interface. Is Cubase the problem? And again, it only happens to the vocal track.

It’s strange, since the lights on my Edirol are telling me that there is an input signal and it works in Audition. It looks like the waveform is recording in Cubase on that track, and the drop-outs are only occurring when I am monitoring the recording and on playback. At least I believed it was actually recording the track, as it appears to do so visually, so I exported the track…but it still contains the drop-outs.

Some additional information…When I turn up the sensitivity on the FA-101, the drop outs decrease, but then I am getting a lot of feedback, but it does get better, but still has drop-outs… Again, works perfect at low sensitivity in Audition and other inputs (line level and such) record fine in Cubase. It is just my vocal track. Does anyone know what might be going on? I get the problem with both dynamic and condenser mics. I thought that was it so purchased a condenser mic, to no avail.

My system: Windows 7 64 bit, 8GB RAM, Cakewalk MA-15D digital monitors, Cubase 5, Edirol FA-101 Firewire Interface.