Setting up busses in Pro 8

Hello, I’ve been using Pro 8 for a few months now, and am beginning to get into the business of setting up busses.

Well at least I think I am, the terminology is a bit confusing for a beginner like me.

Anyway, I have a little issue that I was hoping someone might be able to clarify for me. When I set up a group track for my drums and send all the individual elements to that track I’m finding that I can still hear the drums in the background when I mute that track.

This is having the effect that if, for instance, I want to put a filter across the entire drum part it doesn’t really work because the unfiltered drums are still audible, albeit quietly, in the background.

Just wondering what I’m doing wrong. I’m guessing I need to switch off the bit that’s still sending the drums to their original busses somewhere but I can’t say for sure. I’m just looking to have the entire drum part controllable by the one volume slider - at the moment even with the slider right down I can still hear them.

Any insight much appreciated.

If you set it up using sends from each drum track, do you still have the drum track routed to an output channel? If so, you are setting up the group track and the individual drum parts in parallel.

If you want to pass the outputs of the drum tracks through a single group track re-route the outputs of the drum tracks to the group track instead of using sends. Then route the output of the group track to your output channel. This way, any processing you apply to the group track will deliver the effect you are after and you won’t have any residual ‘dry’ drum tracks being passed to the output.

Brilliant - thanks for that, I wouldn’t have managed that on my own. Much appreciated.