Silence from C6... SOLVED

Hi Experts
Can I implore someone to go back to basics and try to help me get SOME sound from Cubase!!
I am completely new to sequencing so be gentle. I have a song with 2 midi tracks (ie recorded events) and 1 imported MP3 audio track. On replay, there is no sound from the audio track or either of the midi tracks both of which should be playing Halion instruments. Furthermore, when recording, there is no metronome click which I always thought there was. My PC does play sounds normally no problem.
Could someone please give me a clue as to what Cubase expects in terms of setup to enable it to send an audio signal to the outside world?

Many Thanks

First, check Devices->Device Setup-> VST Audio System and make sure your soundcard is selected

My next thing to check is hit F4 for the VST Connections panel, click the “outputs” tab and make sure that your main stereo out bus is assigned to the outputs on the sound card that you have the monitors/cans wired to.

Then, while playing some audio in a loop, Hit F3 to bring the mixer up and verify that the main output shows VU-meter activity, indicating output.

Hope this helps!

Dave

In C5 these basics were explained in the “getting started” manual (Help → Documentation), don’t know if it’s still there in C6. Very useful if you start from 0.

Thanks Dave, Still nothing!
In Device Setup>VST Audio Systems, “Generic Low Latency ASIO Driver” is sleceted which has 2 Inputs and 2 outputs defined. The Input states are inactive and both outputs are Active.
On VST Connections, there is one stereo output bus, speakers col is blank, Audio Device is “Generic Low Latency ASIO Driver” and the Device Port is shown as “Digital Output Device (HDMI1 ) and HDMI2 .
On playback, there is plenty of activity on the VU meters in the mixer.

Cheers

I would also suggest trying ASIO4ALL instead of your generic ASIO drivers. http://www.asio4all.com/