Some instruments not loading sound

Hi all,

I’m just learning Dorico with Elements 3 on Windows 10. I had trouble getting sound working at all, but thanks to help from folks on here that’s working now. But I now have another sound-related problem.

Most instruments that I’ve experimented with work fine, at least in that i get an appropriate sound automatically loaded with the instrument. However, when I started messing around with unpitched percussion, I found that some instruments don’t load a sound.

My simple example is as follows: In a new project, I added two players and gave one a side drum and the other a bass drum. Everything is good in setup mode, I see two percussion clefs as I expect. In write mode, the side drum is fine, and when I enter notes I get sound. The bass drum, however gives no sound. Likewise on playback the side drum sounds and the bass drum does not.

In play mode, rather predictably, I saw that the bass drum had not been assigned a sound, but the side drum had. See attached screen shot.

I tried manually adding the sound by imitating the settings for the side drum. This gave me a sound, but the wrong sound (a click). I can see the percussion map that’s being used, and I can see there are a couple of bass drum sounds in there, but I don’t know how to tell the program to use those sounds. I’ve read up on percussion maps but somehow I’m missing that link.

So I guess I have two questions:

1. Does anyone know why the bass drum doesn’t get a sound in the first place? I’ve tried this multiple times from a clean project, and it consistently happens. Also, as another data point, this happens with some other unpitched percussion instruments (e.g. tam-tam). I haven’t seen it with any pitched instrument yet (I’ve tried probably a dozen of those).

2. Given that it doesn’t automatically assign a sound, how can I fix it manually so I assign an appropriate sound?

Thanks for listening!
Elenmirie