Some questions about transposing instruments

Hello,

I’m really new to Dorico. Normally I use Sibelius for professional engraving, but some features of Dorico sound that great that I’m trying to create a first large opera project with Dorico.

I have two problems regarding transposing instruments:

No. 1: Is it possible to change the way how the transpositions are named in the instrument names. I have a french piece, so I need french instrument names. This is easy to change so far, but how can I change for example Horn 1 in F to Cor 1 en fa?
Changing “Horn” to “Cor” was no problem, but I didn’t found any function to change the naming of the transposition.

No. 2: I don’t know what is happening there, mabe it is a bug, but I have a Horn in E without accidentals. At one point the general key is changing from Db major to E major. The Horn is holding a C, with the changing of the general key it is changing to d. Please see attached a screenshot.

Maybe someone can help here?

Best wishes from Germany!
Paul

Short answer:

This looks like bug but there is a workround: untie the C and D, at which point the D will turn into a D double flat.

Replace the D with a C in a different voice, select the two C’s and tie them together. You need different voices to stop Dorico respelling the second note back to a D double flat.

Long answer:

There is something weird going on here (and apparently involving a one or maybe two bugs), probably because of the extreme transposition situation of using a Horn in E with a key signature of four flats.

I tried reproducing the basics of this, and if I switch to a concert pitch score the written C in the horn part becomes F flat, not the E you might have expected. A concert pitch E natural becomes a written B sharp.

The written C is tied to a written D double flat which seems to have lost its accidentals. You can prove that by turning the accidental on explicitly in Engrave mode, or by deleting the tie.