something's not right with mouse / graphics handling (video)

Couldn’t figure out why WL causes my Macbook to get start up the fans even when performing very easy tasks such as editing a single wave file with no plugins involved. Just cutting / pasting - basic stuff.

But then check out the video I did - the CPU usage goes wild whenever the mouse is simply moved around the screen - it’s even worse when scrolling - which is somewhat understandable. But check out the CPU usage with the file not even playing - it’s just me moving the mouse / cursor around on the screen.

Something really needs optimization here!!

It only happens when using WL with El Capitan. It’s really annoying. Hope there will be a fix soon.

ok thanks - I’m new to Mac and wavelab 8.5 but been using pc and previous wl versions for 10 + years before and never had problems like that before

It seems that El Capitan has caused a fair amount of graphic related issues for audio software. I notice some things in Pro Tools as well, especially some plugins such as AirEQ.

Thanks for posting your experiences here, hopefully these get sorted out sooner or later.

I have a similar problem with Cubase 8.5

It seems that ive got an issue with the performance of the ASIO. The VST performance peaks into red when I scroll and make use of the mouse (VST performance continues to be high/red while moving parts/scrolling project) however the worst scenario seems to be during editing of the drum roll editor. I use a lot of Midi and editing the notes in the drum roll editor and piano roll editor is causing audio stutter. At that time I had Win7 installed. Then I have upgraded to Win8.1 to see if the problems persists. Although the Win8.1 performance is slightly better it is still causing stuttering/ glitching of the audio

My system is comprised of:

CUBASE 8.5 artist TRIAL version
Intel Quad core CPU
NVIDIA GeForce
MOTU 2408 MK2 (Pci 242) Asio card
ASUS P5B/SE EBU motherboard
8GB Corsair RAM
Hitachi 7200RPM HD