Sonar exile needs some comfort...

Greetings,

I’m thrilled to be moving to what I hope, and appears to be, a much more stable DAW (9.5 Pro) than the slowly, but inevitably, vanishing Sonar. Stability is, without question, the single most import factor for me. Features are great; worse than useless when they don’t.

Having “come up” on Sonar, and only ever used Sonar, however, I’m terrified. I’ve got ten years of Sonar experience and no clue how to compress that kind of depth into a shorter learning curve. Steinberg, Groove3, and the rest have some great videos, of course, but they’re mostly geared towards complete DAW newbies, or current Cubase users (about updates, features, etc.)

I’m not sure what I’m asking here, frankly, other than if anyone has stumbled across either a good cross-DAW set of tutorials, maybe even one geared towards Sonar users. I saw Steinberg’s very brief release on similar functionality when Sonar made the announcement, but that was more marketing than specific help.

I realize I’m likely seeking the impossible, but I just have to ask - and this IS the place to ask. Forgive my ignorance; despite my trials and tribulations with Sonar over the years, their forum users have always been incredibly kind and patient. And I promise not to nag… :slight_smile:

I do have one specific question (only because I’m stability-paranoid): having both on the same system shouldn’t be an issue, I assume(?). I can send specifics, but I’m using a custom built machine with RME MADI and an Antelope 32+, though I’m hoping the specs shouldn’t really play much of a role…

Thank you in advance, new friends!

I saw a video on a simple way to set up an audio track for recording when I was considering moving from Sonar to Cubase, but I have never been able to find it again. I wish Cubase (and Dorico) had some way of cataloguing what was available that was easier to reference. The generic YouTube system is a confusing disaster.