Sound disappears...

Hello everyone! Finally Ive signed up after lurking around in the shadows far too long…

Im a newbie when it comes to recording in Cubase 6 and something that bugs me quite often is that the sound disappears. What Ive done is to start the computer all over again and sound returns…

I can be sitting recording some midi and then trying different sounds. After a while I cannot hear anything but I can see by the meters going up that Im making sound with the midi! Whats the issue here, at one point I went from hearing my recording doing a cycle and without me changing anything just looking through effects, sound just disappears. Is my Apogee duet weird or do I need to change a setting that make sound go off after a couple of minuts?

Anyways,
Thanks in advance
All the best Alexander

Hello,

What sound generator do you use? external HW synth or VSTi plug-in? Which one? What about effects? Did you use any? Which one?

If you are using VSTis, isn’t there any DEMO version of the VSTi?

Thanks Martin this might be the issue then with the sound dropping off?

Its the Halion Sonic SE and I will buy something and compare today but the strange thing is the meters. It was going up on the screen but alas, no sound. Even though its a demo It would not drop out of sound with the meters showing sound…? As I logged in today I noticed the message “unmapped port” for my oxygen 61. How do I set this up? I had it all going and then it disappeared but Im sure there are many ways to fix this. Hmm…I wonder

Okay Oxygen works again strangely…its something weird…sound dropping and coming back-----

Okay sound drops off for no reason at all but also when Im adjusting my duets volume. Suddenly, sound is gone but meters responding…

HALion Sonic SE shouldn’t be in DEMO mode. This is part of Cubase. And Cubase Trial works exactly the same, as full version.

What sound card do you use? What about your ASIO driver settings?