Sound Problems in Cubase LE AI Elements 9.5

Hi guys, I’m quite new to Steinberg and recording audio so it’s been a struggle for me recently, hope you can offer some solutions.
I bought the Steinberg UR242, I have a Rode Procaster Dynamic microphone connected to it, in the left Input 1 on the interface, with phantom power (+48V) turned on. I seemed to have followed all the instruction to have a smooth experience, but recording and playing back recorded sound hasn’t been working as intended.

I’m on Windows 10. In the Sound Options for Playback I have selected the “Speakers” (Realtek High Definition Audio). For Recording, the installed “Line” 2 - Steinberg UR242.

When opening up Cubase LE AI Elements 9.5 I start off by selecting a new project as Empty. Then go to Audio Connection “Inputs” tab and set them to Mono (I’ve tried with Stereo Left Input as well) and Stereo is set as Output. In Studio Setup the selected ASIO Driver is Yamaha Steinberg USB ASIO from the dropdown menu. I add a new Mono track and begin recording. Cubase seems to pick up audio, the low sound volume has always been an issue even when the Input Gain on the interface is set to maximum, but nevertheless, what’s most important, you can see the wavelengths getting recorded once you speak into the microphone. So it seems to be working to an extent.

The problem is that I can’t hear anything when I play it back. Mind you I have earphones connected to my laptop, I can listen to YouTube videos, play random music on 3rd party programs, etc. everything seems work but when it comes to Cubase it doesn’t.