Specific Sections of Music Refuse to Condense

Hello,

I recently upgraded to Dorico and it has been awesome so far! Pardon me if I may be missing a solution here as I am still fairly new to Dorico.

There is this weird condensing issue that occurs with Trombones 1 & 2. Note that this also occurs between Oboes 1 & 2, but they are not shown. As you see, the trombones condense perfectly, but a few bars later something gets in the way of the condensing feature. For the remaining bars, the Trombones condense as they should. I thought it may have been because of the Paste > Explode feature, which I use quite often when pasting from my sketches or something wrong with a particular page of music.

The Trombones and Oboes condense as they should when I delete the 2nd instrument’s musical material. When I delete the 1st instrument’s material it results in the following:

None of the Condensing Changes, Engraving settings, Layout settings, or Notation settings fix the problem.

Welcome to the forum @MusicalIdea

Condensing is a very complex and subtle feature. It is almost impossible to diagnose from screenshots. Upload a short segment of the project that demonstrates the problem and someone will probably be able to fix it very quickly.

2 Likes

Hi, Janus

Thanks for the reply.

Here is a short snippet of the project. All other musical material has been deleted to only isolate the sections with the condensing problem. Interestingly, as I was deleting parts of the music (more specifically the beginning and middle portion) I noticed that the Oboes condensed where they normally wouldn’t have. It seems there might be a hidden issue at the beginning (or middle) of the music that prevents condensing later on. Unfortunately, the trombones made no changes as I was deleting music. Perhaps there is something hidden there as well.

Excerpt (Condensing Problem).dorico (1.4 MB)

@Musicalidea, I. believe it is the breath marks in bar 9 and 10 of the 1st Trombone part.