Spectral synth sampling question

As a Halion beginner, i’ve been mostly busy with the great fm zone. But yesterday i got curious about the Spectral synth. Probably a dumb question, but what kind of sample sources do you use? Thinking about copyright: Is it ok to resynthesize Halions own sampled instruments (like a piano etc) and use in your own music?

2 Likes

I am not a lawyer or copyright expert, but I think that‘s ok :+1::sunglasses:

1 Like

Hi @Deerek,

no dumb question at all.

If you legally acquired any software / audio content licenses by Steinberg, you can create any own (derivative) works by using Steinberg editing software (like Cubase, HALion, etc.) and related (commercial) content, without having to pay any additional royalties. You are also entitled to distribute those own creative audio works, freely or commercially. As a legal license holder, you already paid for any sound library licenses as determined by Steinberg (including products by some third parties who are Steinberg product partners).

Yet there’s one thing which you’re absolutely not allowed to do:
to take any samples from a commercial library and then declare those extracted samples as “yours”. You need to create something of your own, on the basis of such licensed samples.

Cheers,
Markus

1 Like

Good question.

So, he cant take any copyrighted commercial sample libraries and mix different sample, resample / resynthesis it to a unrecognisable format / new audio sample, then perhaps sell it ???.

I allways wanted to mix different commercial drum sample , to mix a new sample, example a mixed snare etc, but afraid they will sue me, so i wont do that.