SSDs and DAWs

There’s growing choice for non-HDD storage, as can be see here: Choosing the right SSD: SATA, M.2, PCIe, and NVMe explained by JJ - YouTube

Does anyone on here use SSD via SATA or in the form of M.2, PCIe, or NVMe on their system with Cubase 8?

If so, how have you found them for performance and reliability? And do you optimize you operating system for use with SSDs or HDDs?

Thanks

I have my OS and CB8P on an SSD. This is the biggest performance boost I have seen in years (I work in IT/ software development).

I did not set up my OS (Win7) specifically as the SSD was immediately recognized. I think you can assign your page file memory too to the SSD, but with enough RAM this is not an issue for me (yet).

One thing I did, that is to have my projects, audio, docs etc on a separate drive (regular HDD) as the SSD can corrupt after a while. The transistors only live for about 500.000 operations or so… I had to reinstall my OS recently on a new drive…

So for operation software (DAW, Ms Office, OS, etc) I advise a SSD. For critical data, such as projects, recordings, docs, etc, I advise a separate drive. When using a SSD for these mission critical files, ensure that you properly back up (once a week?), especially if the PC is your money maker.

Hope this helps…

What SSD do you use?

SSDs take storage off the critical path as far as performance goes. Note that even SATAII SSDS have plenty of performance for lots of audio channels.

Windows automatically optimises for SSDs, so no need to do anything special.

Almost all my OCZ SSDs have failed after a few years. I think modern SSDs, like Samsung, Kingston, or their re-badgers, are not using the experimental controllers that OCZ were, so have better reliability.

Basically, as little as 10GB+ always spare on an SSD for OS or project use will allow it to last 100+ years before cells die, though it will be obsolete or fail due to some other reason before then.