STAFF CLASH ISSUES/ DORICO PRO 3

Hi All!

I’m new to this…be gentle.

I’m having issues with staff clashing/overlapping and don’t understand why. I assumed this old issue would have been resolved.

First time of using Dorico, only second project and this seems to be the most common problem. Manually dragging the stave in Engrave Mode doesn’t solve the issue. I’ve searched through various staff spacing Youtube videos and forums but no joy.

I’m hoping it’s a relatively simple fix.

I haven’t changed any settings.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

1 Like

Welcome to the forum, whibbers.

The quickest way to an answer is always to zip and post the actual project, but at the very least, please post a screenshot that demonstrates the problem, preferably from the Staff Spacing submode of Engrave mode.

Hi pianoleo

Thanks for your reply!

Yes here it is…

…or is this what you meant?

The problem is that Dorico has to make a guess at how many staves and systems will fit on a page, before it can do the detailed layout. It guessed 3 systems, which is OK for the other pages we can see, but not for the problem page because of the extra vertical space needed where all those dynamics, articulations, slurs, and text or playing techniques (the “(slap)” text) all coincide.

Dragging the staves vertically won’t fix it, because in Dorico (unlike some other notation programs) that never changes the number of staves on the page.

You can either reposition some of the markings to use less vertical space, (e.g. move the “(slap)” text right so it doesn’t align with everything else) or insert a frame break after two systems on that page, and probably another one after two systems on the next page.

If this sort of problem is occurring often in your scores, you might want to got to Setup mode, and reduce the staff size in Layout Options / Page Setup.

1 Like

Thanks for your help Rob Tuley

I’ll try that.