Standards for Placement of Textual Articulation Designations

I’m still new to orchestration, so I’m asking for leniency due to the basic nature of some of my questions in advance.

I’ve noticed every time I add a playing technique in my notated music (SHIFT-P), Dorico adds it as text, ABOVE the stave. 99% of the time I end up hiding the text especially for strings, because obviously the markings (such as dot for staccato) would normally be what players look at. And in that specific instance I would have to add the text ‘sempre stacc.’ BELOW the stave I just have a few questions.

1. Is there a way to hide the playing technique by default?
  2. Are the playing techniques text added simply because they’re required for playback? Would it be wrong in most cases to actually intend the text for the players?
  3. My understanding is that unless staccato is repeated for more than one measure you might do something like sempre stacc. on the second measure (below) the stave, indicating staccato from that point until it’s canceled (e.g.: nat., norm., ord) and of course dots on the notes for the first measure; but what is the standard for other articulations? I’ve read, for instance, for marcato which is going to repeat for several measures you would actually add marcato marks (upside down V) on the notes for the first measure and then indicate ‘sim.’ on the second measure of continuing marcato and then later, say 5 measures later, add ‘nat’ or ‘ord.’ to cancel. Would it be wrong to just use the text of ‘marcato’ placed above the stave which is added by the SHIFT-P and then, as before, indicate ‘sim’ on the second measure etc.?

I found a forum where the user said, "My new Schirmer Manual of Style makes this easy rule: "text indications above the staff should not be italicized (except alterations of tempo). Those below the staff should be in italics. Is this true? If so, where is this documented? Notation books?