Starting out with Cubase, looking for advice--composition

Hi all,

I got elements 6 recently and have been browsing the internet awhile to get oriented with it. I’m having a hard time finding exactly what I’m looking for, so I’m looking for insight from more experienced users :smiley:

I play strings instruments and have a reasonable understanding of music theory and composition, but I have never used any music software other than basic notation software (sibelius). I have no experience with piano/keyboards.

I’m looking to create music such as that of movies/games, nothing genre-specific. In my attempt to discover a workflow for Cubase, I’ve noticed all the tutorials I’ve found involve an individual using a midi-keyboard to play the various pieces of the composition using different VST instruments on different tracks. Which leads me to my questions:

1. Is it reasonable to try to use Cubase to compose without using midi instruments such as a keyboard? I suppose you could add a midi track and then add notes manually using the key editor or the score editor. Are there any other techniques for developing a composition in Cubase?

2. For someone with no keyboard skills, will a midi keyboard be at all useful?

3. Does anyone have any tutorials they could recommend for composing in Cubase without using external midi devices?

Thanks,
I appreciate all advice.

Hey Blendertime,

i am not sure if it will be useful to you or not (because i have not subscribed to it yet) but there is a brilliant site called LYNDA.

It has about 6 x hours of Cubase tutorials but i only watched the free 10 x mins sample dvd. The picure and sound quality was excellent and i am definately going to use it this year. It costs about $20 p/m for unlimited access.

In fact they have dvds of every subject imaginable !!!

Hope that helps.

Best,

Paul