Stereo Mastering Template

Can anyone guide me to where I can find instructions on how to use the Stereo Mastering Template from the Hub in Cubase Artist 11 please?

There is not much to it, mate.
There is one stereo audio track to place the audio file on, that you have been given for mastering.
Then there are two plugins loaded on the Stereo Out bus (VST Dynamics and StereoEnhancer).
And the project is set to 44.1kHz and 16 bit.

I doubt anybody, who does real mastering in Cubase will use that template.

1 Like

Johnny…many thanks for your time and advice, appreciate it mate.

Only ever finished tracks using Audio Mixdown and presumed that using any kind of Mastering setup/template, might give me a more professional sound. Since I’ve never ‘Mastered’ and don’t know how to do a ‘real master’ as you say (I know what you mean though). Since I’m just a bedroom musician, feels like spending time on educating myself through the complexities of ‘real mastering’, might be out of my depth :pensive:

Mastering is something that has to be applied to each song individually. There are some common techniques and effects used but you’d still have to tweak the parameters.
It is not easy to learn how to master well. That is why some people get paid good money to do it.

If you watch some videos and read some articles on that topic, my advice would be to listen only to the guys who are mainly talking about mastering and tightly related topics.
If a content creator unveils their mastering expertise on one day while on the next day promoting a midi keyboard and then some creative plugin afterwards I’d stay away from them.

Especially if:

• The room you are trying to master in isn’t acoustically up to snuff
  • The room you are trying to master in is the same room you mixed in
  • The ears you use for mastering are the same ones you used for mixing